Solid B

I am going to give myself a huge pat on the back right now.  I will not admit that I failed NoBloPoMo because I missed a few days.  Rather, I will be happy with my solid B.  26 out of 30 is quite respectable… especially considering how little I blogged in the previous year and that I broke my leg.  (See? I can use it for an excuse for anything).

But, beyond a grade, I wanted to think a little about this experience.  Why do I do this?  Is it worth it? Does anyone actually read my ramblings?

I used to love NaBloPoMo because it really created community.  Sadly, I don’t think it does that anymore.  The structure changed and it is harder to find people.  Moreover, I just don’t have the time to search and noone is finding me.

On the other hand, it gave me a chance to write some of the stories that I don’t want to forget, like the my little girl’s first love or her saga to say good-bye.  It also gave me a chance to think more in depth about things I see online like when my high school took another positive stance for LGBTI youth.  Every day was not inspired.  Every day was not spell checked.  But, it was a good habit.

Did anyone read my ramblings?   Well according to the stats page, yes.  Of course, in the past year of being nearly dormant, I generally have 15-25 hits a day.  This month jumped to a high of 146 in one day.  Not huge by any standards.  But, in the end, I don’t write for stats, or for followers, or fame, or money.  I write to remember.  I write as a release.  I write for myself.

This was a good month.  I am happy for my B and for feeling a bit back in the blogging world.

NaBloPoMo_1115_465x287_THEME

 

Leave a Reply

