Binkie update

24 days ago I talked about our journey to give up the binkie.  The good news is that we have!  She is sleeping every night without it and now basically doesn’t ask.

The major downside is that she has also  

 given up napping.  She just couldn’t figure out how to nap without a binkie.  I know. I know.  I should count my lucky stars that up to 4.5 years, she napped for at least 90 minutes.  On the other hand, I think she still needs the sleep.  She is irritable and grumpy when I get home for work and constantly complaining of being tired.

Today, I was lamenting the no nap to friends.  Little Elephant, overhearing the conversation, quietly nuzzles up and said:

Mom, I’ll make you a deal.  If you give me back the binkie, then I’ll nap for you.  Is it a deal?”

It wasn’t.  But it surprised me that this child who no longer asks for the binkie still secretly wants it.    In hind sight, I should have realized.  She is trying to figure out how to carry a blanket and suck her thumb like the character on Snoopy. 

This month she has napped twice: once in the car for 10 minutes and once on the coach with Liza.  Sigh!

One comment

Leave a Reply

