The downside of math

With peas:

“How many peas do you have left, hunny?”

“7”

“What happens if you eat 3?”

“Mommy, I have 4 left!”

With chunks of meat:

“How many bites do I need to take?”

“Let’s take 6”

“I took 1.  Now I only have to take 5.”

Bite.

“I look 1 more.  Now I only have to take 4.”

With cupcakes:

“Mommy! What happened to my cupcakes?!?”

“What do you mean sweetie?”

“How many did you eat?”

“Huh? Let’s get our bag ready for school”

“Mommy.  Last night we made 5 cupcakes.  You ate one. I ate one and then you finished it.  Now, how many cupcakes did you eat??”

“You just counted I guess.  So, about that school bag?”

“Mom! There were five.  We ate two.  There should be three left.  Why are there only two left? Who at the missing cupcake? Did you eat another cupcake after I went to bed???”

Moral of the story:

Don’t teach your kids to count if you want to eat the cupcakes.

Photo Credit: Clever Cupcakes from Montreal, Canada
Photo Credit: Clever Cupcakes from Montreal, Canada

 

Leave a Reply

