Happy 3rd Birthday

All Rights Reserved Clare Says
All Rights Reserved
Clare Says

Dear Little Elephant,

Today, you turned three years old!  I can’t believe how fast the time has gone, how big your have gotten, how much you make me laugh, and how proud I am to be your Mommy.  I can only hope to watch you reach 103!

You love graham crackers.  This is unfortunate, as they are hard to find overseas.  Luckily, we know where to find the supply locally and when they get in a shipment, I buy multiple boxes.  Then, I take the boxes to my office and bring them home only one at a time (you still haven’t figured out this trick, but I am sure you will soon— you really are too smart for your own good).  The office trick is necessary as otherwise you would just sit in one place until all crackers from all boxes were in your belly.  Anyway, the other day Liza told you that “Mommy said we can only have 1 graham cracker”.  You thought about it and replied “No Liza.  I can have as many as I want.  You just need to tell Mommy that I only ate one.”  Ahh, little dickens you are— but your deception did not work.  And, worst of all, Liza made you fess up!

We went to buy flowers for Matthew’s Mommy today.  Between the two flower stands, a bit back, is a place the sells ice cream.  I have never pointed this out before, but today you noticed.  “Daddy, you whispered to him, I think I need to go look at something over there.”  Luckily, he figured it out to and distracted you.  We may have to not visit the flower shops for a while.

You still love going to school.  Your new goal is to get their first.  So, you wake up at 5 instead of 7.  Unfortunately, this plan often backfires because Mommy is so tired by the time school runs around, that we can’t get moving.  School doesn’t open til 8, I tell you over and over like a broken record, but unfettered you explain “but Mommy, I need to be first”.

This is not the only time you fight sleep.  Funny, now you have started to repeat back to me the things I say as I plead for your to sleep.  For example, when in bed, if you have to go potty again, you emphatically tell me: “Last time Mommy.  Just 1 last time I need to use the potty.  Then, I will not make you sick.”  When I ask for clarification about the sick part, you tell me, “Yes, I will not make you sick.  We need to sleep to be healthy.  I will not make you sick. One last time to the potty.”

The school had an end of the year show.  Despite only attending part time, you made sure you knew each of the words.  You would sit on the potty and practice “ooly gooly had a worm…”  On the day of the show, you recited “Roses are red. Violets are blue. Sugar is sweet. And so are you.”  Despite the microphone, I couldn’t hear a word.  You did happily recite it later that afternoon for Liza though.  On the other hand, in the middle of a song, you glanced up and noticed the flower decorations hanging from the ceiling.  Louder than the other 8 kids singing together, you shouted “Mommy! There are FLOWERS hanging from the ceiling! Mommy! Did you see the flowers?”.  You repeated that over and over, while Miss Jenny tried to hush you and I tried to contain my laughter.  You joy is infections.  You now take “Three little kittens who lost their mittens” and change the word mitten for whatever you can’t find (socks, truck, shoes) to let me know that something is missing.

We had a joint birthday party with a neighbor yesterday (more posts on that later this week).  A friend from down the block came.  She has three little ones: 8 years old, 5 years old and 1 year old. When she said that Little Elephant was turn 3, the 8 year old responded “No way! I thought she was older.  She sure is smart and talk a lot!”  See?  Verdict is out and I am not the only one who thinks that L.E. is one smart cookie!

Every morning, when we get up, you say: “Mama, are you staying all day with me?”  If no, you respond, “Okay.  Liza can stay all day with me.  Then you will come home.” Yes, dear, I always will!  When I leave for work, you shout, “I love you sweet Mama” after the car.  And, when we go to sleep at night, you whisper, “Mama, do you know I love you?”  And I do.  Plus, I love you right back and a thousand times over.

Hugs and kisses to my dynamic daughter.  Good luck for this next year.  I can’t wait to explore it with you!

Clare

 

Leave a Reply

