Recipe: Mushroom Bisque

I grew up eating this bisque; it is one of my favorite soups and certainly ranks up there as comfort food.  That said, I rarely make it.  It tastes so rich and decadent that I forget how simple it truly is.  In fact, today, I made it while my daughter sat by my side.  Once everything was chopped and cooking, we read a few books.  Then, I returned to the kitchen.  My point?  It was simple and hands off enough that I could complete it without the 2-year-old having a melt down because Mommy’s attention was elsewhere!  Even better?  She loved it!

  1. Chop 1 lb. mushrooms (even better if you mix types of mushrooms).
  2. Add 3 cups chicken broth (4 cubes).
  3. Add 1 onion whole (sometimes I use two or I use read onions).
  4. Simmer 15-20 minutes.
  5. Remove Onion.
  6. Melt and heat 3 tbs. butter, add ¼ cup flour.
  7. Add 1 cup milk.
  8. Stir until thickened.
  9. Whisk into mushroom mix.
  10. Add ¾ – 1 cup heavy cream (sometimes I use whole milk or whatever I have). Salt, pepper, paprika or 1 tbs. parsley
  11. 1 tsp sherry (optional)
  12. Heat gently. Do not boil.
4 comments

Leave a Reply

