Hungry and trapped!

(Delicious looking sushi in the photo not from the restaurant referenced below; used under creative commons license)

I don’t know what it is about driving, or rather bring driven, that makes me sleepy. I am easily lulled into dreamland as soon as we get moving. So is my daughter. This is both a blessing and a curse. On the one hand, naps! Yay! On the other hand, once she is asleep, we are car-bound.

I take a lot of naps in the car with her. I write blog posts on my cell phone (like this one). Sometimes, I remember to being a book or work to do.

The worst, however, is when I am hungry. Especially if we had been on our way to a restaurant.

Today, I knew this would happen. And I had a huge craving for sushi. So, I tried something new. I called and asked if they delivered. They didn’t. They did do takeout, so I asked if they would just step out and I could pay at my car.

Huh?

The woman answering the phone had a strong accent, the connection was bad, and my request was random. I tried again.

Huh?

Finally, she understood and then shouted the request in Japanese to one of the servers. She agreed.

Thanks Ginza Sushi! The rainbow roll is great and eating in the car while my daughter naps is even better.

Leave a Reply

