No Name Calling Week

I first heard about No Name Calling Week over at Lesbian Family. I thought the idea was great.

I have been thinking about bullying and what I want to say about it. This is a hard topic for me. I was bullied. But I was lucky– I have the personality and a strong support system that allowed me to walk away only slightly damaged. I certainly see how it affected and affects some others deeply. I worry about how my daughter will be treated and seen. So, this week, I am going to try and talk about bullying. Wish me luck!

About No Name-Calling Week

Coordinated by GLSEN in collaboration with over 60 national education organizational partners, No Name-Calling Week is an annual week of educational activities aimed at ending name-calling of all kinds and providing schools with the tools and inspiration to launch an on-going dialogue about ways to eliminate bullying in their communities.

***This is part of a series on bullying.  Check out the other posts: Friends vs. Bullies, Physical Violence, They reached their peak, and researching LGBT teen suicide..

4 comments

  1. What a good idea. I received some bullying when I was little, but luckily I managed to stop it before it got bad. So far my daughters haven’t experienced this, (they are 16 and 8). I think when my 16 year old was younger no one even talked of bullying in schools. Now we hear about it all the time.

    Maybe they could do something like this here. It is a shame they didn’t do this later in the year so both hemispheres could share stories and help each other. (Chile is still on summer vacation).

    • My husband swears that bullying isn’t as bad here in Chile. But, I think he is wrong in thinking it doesn’t exist. It would be nice if this could be used on both continents!

      • It is hard to know. I grew up in the US, my husband grew up in Chile. We both experienced bullying. Who can say where it is worse. Although I think 30 years ago it was probably worse in the US. Now it may be similar.

        My oldest daughter spent 9 years in a small rural school, with the same class of about 15 kids, now she is in a bigger school, but still small compared to others. She has seen very little bullying. My youngest is in the same rural school, but her class is very different, mainly boys, some with problems. She has had kids (boys and girls) be “mean” to her in class, but not bad enough to stop her going, (she is going into 3rd grade in March).

        When my oldest was 11 we read Blubber together by Judy Blume, then did a book report for her class together. I seem to remember it was a good way to talk about bullying with the class. I know it is dated, but it is one to remember, for when your daughter is older.🙂

Leave a Reply

