No + discriminación

No + discriminación, originally uploaded by nerraz.

I remember a dozen years ago when gay rights marches in Santiago were barely a couple dozen people. I remember Chile when sodomy was still illegal. I remember Chile before people had the legal right to change their gender.

It brings tears to my eyes to see all the people that showed up at this year’s Gay Rights walk. It moves me to see how quickly the movement is changing the country. It makes me hopeful for a future of equality that change is happening fast enough to be palpable.

At the same time, the amount of violence in the lives of LGBT in Chile is horrendous.

In April 2012, the Chilean Government passed an anti-discrimination law–I only hope they will enforce it. It was passed after a brutal murder, which received quite a bit of press: In March 2012, a young gay man, Daniel Zamudio was brutally beaten by a Neo-Nazi band, and died on March 27.

Movilh, a Chilean NGO that fights for the gay people rights said that from 2002 to 2012, there has been known of 837 complaints of brutal cases of homophobia and transphobia, 17 of these cases are murders, only in the past year three transsexuals were murdered, one of them had her face disfigured with a blowtorch.

2 comments

  1. I haven’t read the law and I, too, hope it’s enforced. I’m sometimes (a lot of times) disapointed with how LONG it takes Chile to get on board and the final execution, Take the six month maternity leave. Excellent idea. Really, it is. However, as a woman trying to find a job in Chile it makes it that much harder because companies CAN disriminate and they DO all the time, therefore the six months doesn’t mean much if you can’t get hired in the first place. I hope you see where I’m going with this. I think there is a lot that needs to change here.

Leave a Reply

