Snow movers

Standard

Snow all over, originally uploaded by kersy83.

I grew up with snow. Wisconsonites, know snow. I lived in places where it rarely snowed (Santiago, Chile & Phnom Penh, Cambodia) and where it was a disaster if it did snow (Washington DC).

I have never seen a place deal with snow, the way Kazakhstan does. I am in awe. Although I am not sure it is the best use of resources…. granted, I can’t imagine what it would be like if all the snow really piled up.

Let me back track. A few months ago, I went to Astana, the capital of Kazakhstan. It is much much colder there then in Almaty. As we drove into the city, we saw dump trucks filled with snow driving out to the steppe to drop their loads. We didn’t see one or two trucks; we saw over a dozen!

Fast forward to last week in Almaty, I saw workers filling a dump truck with snow! I also so little tiny side walk snow movers. These were great— although they really didn’t care about the pedestrians in their path.

About Clare

I am a social worker who lives abroad, moves every couple of years with my daughter, my pup, and my partner, works in development, loves food and taking pictures and writes for fun and for friends back home. Home being the many places I have lived and those I have left behind with each move.

Leave a Reply

