Yum! Tastes like Chile

Standard

torta de mil hojas con manjar, originally uploaded by 1novelgirl.

Overall, I think that taste in deserts is different in different countries and people tend to like best what they have known since childhood. And, while I like treats in Chile, I usually prefer stuff from home.

Except, I do love the Torta de Mil Hojas– Cake of a Thousand layers. When I was in high school, my host mom and I would spend whole days making this cake. Each layer has to be rolled out and cut individually. It is not complicated, but it was long as we could only cook two layers at a time.

Now that we are visiting my parents-in-law, I have had this cake multiple times. Granted, both they and my own host family, buy it already made. Equally delicious!

If you want to try for yourself:

Ingredients

* 4 cups all-purpose flour
* 2 teaspoons baking powder
* 7/8 cup butter
* 3 egg yolks
* 1 cup milk
* 2 (14 ounce) cans sweetened condensed milk
* 1 cup chopped walnuts
* 1/4 cup orange juice

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Mix together the flour and baking powder; set aside.

2. In a large bowl, beat the butter until creamy. Blend in the egg yolks, one at a time. Beat in the flour mixture alternately with the milk. The dough will be stiff like a cookie dough. Divide the dough into 10 pieces and shape into balls. Roll each ball into a 9 inch circle. Place on cookie sheets and prick with a fork in several places.

3. Bake in the preheated oven for 10 to 12 minutes, or until golden brown. Set aside.

4. Make the Manjar Filling: In a sauce pan, boil the unopened cans of sweetened condensed milk for 3 hours. Monitor the water closely, to make sure there is always water in the pan. Remove can from heat and let cool for 10 to 15 minutes. In a small measuring cup, combine the orange juice and the manjar.

5. Place one cookie layer on serving plate. Spread with the Manjar. Sprinkle with nuts. Continue stacking until all layers are used. (Nuts are optional and can be used in the layers or just on top or not at all)

About Clare

I am a social worker who lives abroad, moves every couple of years with my daughter, my pup, and my partner, works in development, loves food and taking pictures and writes for fun and for friends back home. Home being the many places I have lived and those I have left behind with each move.

One response »

Leave a Reply

