Cultural Expereinces and Personal Taste

We took our little girl to Chicago last week so that we could do some paperwork at the Chilean Consulate. Since we were making the trip, we decided to stay overnight and see a bit of the city. We were also hoping to see a friend who lives there, but sadly, she was on vacation.

One of the major things we did was visit the Art Institute of Chicago.  We decided to focus our visit on the Impressionists and since Little E has been staring at art work when we pass it, we hope at 6 weeks old she might see something she liked.  Of course, they have an amazing collection, so everyone had favorites.

For some reason, I was just very drawn to The Song of the Lark by Jules-Adolphe Breton:

S couldn’t decide which was his favorite.  How could he?? We saw Monet, Renoir, Degas and Van Gogh.  When pressed, he said we really liked The Girl by the Window by Edvard Munch, who he did not earlier know:

Our little girl, who unfortunately (or perhaps fortonately) slept for most of the visit, did also have a clear favorite:

Yep. She liked the ceiling lights and patterns.

6 comments

  1. I visited the Art Institute for the first time back in 1991, and I too was drawn to “The Song of the Lark.” Nice to find a kindred soul. Thanks for sharing the reflections on your visit.

  2. I’ve never been to that museum in Chicago. I think I’ve only been to the Museum of Science and Industry. I remember it being so cool when I was a kid. When your little one is big enough you should take her!

  3. I love art museums, but I’ve never been to that one. I’ve been trying to get to the Kimbel Art Museum in Fort Worth but first it was closed and then I had a crappy AC. No more excuses now. I’ve been meaning to write to you because I’m considering a similar career path to you after I graduate and my year in Texas is up. I think I’ll drop you a line on Facebook soon. I hope you are having fun! I bet you are in Chile now?

  4. the Song of the Lark is beautiful……anyone who ever was stopped in their tracks by the call of a bird understands this…..no matter what type of work one was doing at the time.

Leave a Reply

