Time changes everything

First of all, you should know that one of major side effects I have had with the pregnancy is that I get Charlie Horses.

In April, we were in Budapest. We spent the day wandering the city and came home exhausted. The first weekend, we stayed at a little bed and breakfast in the Castle Hill region. On Sunday, we moved to the Hilton where I was attending a conference. Having just arrived at the hotel, I fell asleep almost immediately. At some point, around 3:30 in the morning, I work up screaming! I had twin Charlie Horses, one in each leg and was in incredible pain. S flew out of the bed asking what was wrong. “Charlie horse, charlie horse” I yelled, tears rolling down my checks. Sweet man that he is, my word might as well have been in Mandarin. He was sure I was going into labor, had no idea what I was saying, and had no idea where a hospital was located in this large city. Still, he was determined to get me there.

That night, he learned a new phrase and we did not in fact go to the hospital. Once I got my legs to hurt less, my Spanish returned, and I had a good laugh.

Fast forward to Saturday night. I sat straight up in bed, screaming bloody murder, with another charlie horse. Being that I really could go into labor any second, S darted right up: “Is it time?”. “No” I answered, “Charlie horse”. I am pretty sure I hadn’t even finished the word “horse”, when S’s head fell back onto his pillow, snoring already and leaving me, tears on my cheeks to deal with my leg.

What a difference a few months and a couple new words in his vocabulary can make!

Leave a Reply

