Cheburashka– some things are just classics

Early into my time learning Russian, the institute decide to have a celebration. Each student could choose to be part of the choir, write a skit, or say a traditional toast– all in Russian of course. With 2 months of Russian under the belt, I joined the choir. We learned 8 songs.

I am still taking Russian classes here in Almaty. The other day, my teacher said I need to know the word tablecloth. While I would argue that it is not a word I will often use, I did already know it. Why? Because it was mentioned in one of the songs as a metaphor for time continuing and moving on. So, I started to sing the song. My teacher was beside herself that I knew a song from Cheburashka.

You see, the song is from a classic soviet cartoon whose main characters are a crocodile named Gena, a little old lady, a little girl and an unknown animal named Cheburashka. (or maybe that is the type of animal he is– but he is not found in any dictionary).

At the time, S and I went on youtube and literally watched hours of the cartoon– of course neither of us had enough Russian to follow the dialog. We went back to look for it today and again were mesmerized. We decided we need to get a DVD of the cartoon so that one day, when we have kids, they can fall in love with this adorable classic as well.

Here is a short clip– with English subtitles for all the non-Russian speaking readers (meaning everyone except Maria, Marina, Alexey, Aizhana, and my other Almaty friends who read this). It really is adorable.

2 comments

  1. Another story concerning Cheburashka.
    As you may know there is an exchange program for CIS high school students and undergraduates to study in US. One of the stages of the selection process was an interview. It was conducted by one American and one local person from ACCELS. One of my classmates was invited from the interview. And one of the questions for him was to tell a joke or a funny story. He told the following old kids’ joke:
    Cheburashka and a crow were flying for quite a time, and sat down on a tree, to get some rest. In a few minutes the crow tells Cheburashka “Come on! Let’s fly further!”
    “Wait,” replies Cheburashka, “My ears need more rest.”
    The local girl from felt out laughing. The American guy giggled.
    Then she asked him if he knew what Cheburashka was. That was the time for my classmate to laugh🙂

    But that thing is really classic!

  2. That is a cute video🙂

    I agree. Tablecloth is not a particularly useful word…I think. Most times you can just talk around those things. Like, Oh I need that thing made of cloth that covers the table. Where do you keep it?

    I give you props for learning Russian. It looks HARD!

Leave a Reply

