Jumping on the bandwagon

So, all the cool chilean bloggers are doing it, so why don’t I?

And, Taly asked yesterday. She commented– well, she commented on my facebook posting of my blog (I don’t think she reads my blog. In fact, I think a lot of people on my faecbook don’t know I have a blog– they just think I post notes a lot). Anyways, I moved her comment over to the Fun Facts about Central Asia post.  Side note, this is something I do regularly for people.

So… I guess I will do it.

Do what?

Do what all the cool chilean bloggers are doing.  See?  Abby did it. And Amanda did it. And Sara started it (I think).

It is a short intro to who I am.  Really, for the facebook readers, this is probably boring. Sorry guys.

Who am I?

I was born in Maryland almost 3 decades ago; we moved to Wisconsin almost immediately.  I had a normal childhood– swam competitively, lived in and for the high school drama club, studied abroad in Chile.  I got my first degree in Spanish with Minors in Japanese and Linguistics from Georgetown.  I was in Peace Corps Moldova as a health volunteer.  I hated Texas (and yes, Jason, I have lived there now so I can say that).  I got an MSW focusing on international development and human rights.

What do I do?

I now travel the world working on international development.  I have been in Cambodia and Chile.  I am planning a trip to Kazakhstan and Central Asia for two years.  My Chilean family says I am pattiperra (Feet of a dog— aka a roam a lot).

Do I speak Spanish?

Yes.  But with a distinctly Chilean accent and vocabulary. I lived in Chile for 1 year in high school, 1 year in college, 1 year as a Fulbright and then working for a University.  I have been back multiple other times.

How long do you plan on roaming the world? When are you going to settle down?

Well, let’s see how long my husband let’s me and my job keeps me.  Hopefully for a while.  There are dozens of places on my list of where I want to live!

Do you respond to people when they email you or leave a comment?

I try.  I really do.  And yes, I have a couple people who I need to respond to ASAP.  Life has been a little crazy recently with the Russian learning.  It is all I can do to keep up with NaBloPoMo.  To tell the truth, I have barely been reading other blogs or talking to people in real life.  I think it will only get worse before it gets better.

Do I like Chile/Santiago?

I do love Chile, less so Santiago. That said, I don’t live there any more.

Are you excited about Kazakhstan?

Duh! Haven’t you been reading?

Aren’t you going to include fun facts? You promised Taly!

I can juggle.  When I learn new languages, I count the numbers in my sleep (sometimes at a yell).  I really like to cook– I think it is relaxing. If I don’t have anyone to cook for, I generally just eat pancakes and cereal and boxed mac and cheese.  I think real mac and cheese is better than the boxes, but I like the boxes too. People sent me toilet paper and sun dried tomatoes to help me survive Moldovan winters. I wish I had more time to read and to indulge myself in all the TV shows I love.  I love the Chilean telenovelas.

Now…who are you dear readers? It’s time to come out of hiding and leave me some blog love :p

4 comments

  1. Not to be petty, but I started it🙂

    Also, I like both mac and cheeses too!! But homemade is best.

    Good luck with the Russian learning. I learned Russian for 3 months in 7th grade but I remember nothing, except how to write my “Russian” name. Useful, I know.

Leave a Reply

