News that makes you want to cry, throw punches, and eat candy

I think reading the news feels like a luxury to me– and I don’t like it. I want to be in a routine where I sit, sip coffee, and read the paper in the morning. I am in this routine– sort of. Only, life (and dog walking) keeping getting in the way.

Still, today I did read some stories and I wanted to share the ones that made me want to cry, throw punches and eat candy.

Cry:

NJ considers ban on bare-it-all ‘Brazilian’ wax.  I am not going to harp on this much because it grosses me out and many of my readers may feel the same way. Just thinking about it makes me shudder.  Why do women torture themselves this way?

Throw punches:

Strip-Search of Girl Tests Limit of School Policy This story made me angry.  The “drug” that this honor roll 13 year old was accused of having, thus leading to the strip search, was prescription Ibuprofen. I carried that in my bag through all of middle school and high school– it was prescribed as the only thing that even barely controlled my menstrual cramps. Not to mention, it is just Ibuprofen… you could take a bunch of over the counter stuff! Regardless, I think it is atrocious what happened to this young woman and I am glad that the mother is fighting back.  Too often bad things happen in the name of good.  Children should NOT be strip searched in school in the name of fighting drugs unless reasonable evidence is shown, perhaps parents are present, and it is something the cops do.  This is not the place of our schools.  Think how easily this slope can be exploited— and then children can be exploited.  

Eat candy:

When Economy Sours, Tootsie Rolls Soothe Souls Yum! This recession may be doing many things, but apparently it is not hurting the candy sales.  Now I want to go out and buy some sour patch kids.

3 comments

  1. OK, that news about strip searches is Messed Up. Can’t they get some drug dogs?

    Maybe a chocolate exporting biz is my best bet.

    And I have had a Brazilian. It’s really not bad. It feels great b/c it’s like being a little kid again, lol. And if you wear a Brazilian bikini, it’s a must. Otherwise spiders will be crawling out of your underwear! They decided not to go through with the ban because they said it doesn’t feel right to prohibit ppl. from moving their pubic hair. Yup, agreed. Infection sounds rough though.

  2. When I first read about the strip search, I had the exact same reaction. It boggles the mind that anybody would think this was even remotely okay.

    The Brazilian wax thing, though, doesn’t bother me the same way it does you. I don’t know why someone would want to do this, but if they do, I don’t think it should be illegal. The government should certainly not involve themselves in whether or not I wax part of my body. Maybe they should just be forced to hand out literature about the dangers of waxing? Like “heads up, you’re ripping hair and some skin off a very delicate area. THERE MAY BE REPERCUSSIONS, BONEHEADS.”

    Only without the boneheads part.

Leave a Reply

