Speak to me

I love music with a message. I don’t necessarily just like background noise. I want to it say something. I want it to speak to me. To have personal meaning; to have political calling. Here are some of my favorite lyrics

Tú no puedes volver atrás
porque la vida ya te empuja
con un aullido interminable,
interminable…

Te sentirás acorralada
te sentirás perdida o sola
tal vez querrás no haber nacido,
no haber nacido…

Pero tú siempre acuérdate
de lo que un día yo escribí
pensando en ti, pensando en ti,
como ahora pienso…

La vida es bella ya verás,
como a pesar de los pesares,
tendrás amigos, tendrás amor,
tendrás amigos…

(Palabras para Julia)

And the things you might take for granted
Your inalienable rights
Some might choose to deny him
Even though he gave his life

Can you live with yourself in the land of the free
And make him less of a hero than the other three
Well it might begin to change ya
In a field in Pennsylvania

(Tuesday Morning – Melissa Etheridge)

I am beautiful no matter what they say
Words can’t bring me down
I am beautiful in every single way
Yes, words can’t bring me down
So don’t you bring me down today

(Beautiful- Christina Aguilera)

What kind of father would take his own daughter’s rights away?
And what kind of father might hate his own daughter if she were gay?
I can only imagine what the first lady has to say
You’ve come a long way from whiskey and cocaine.

How do you sleep while the rest of us cry?
How do you dream when a mother has no chance to say goodbye?
How do you walk with your head held high?
Can you even look me in the eye?

Let me tell you ’bout hard work
Minimum wage with a baby on the way
Let me tell you ’bout hard work
Rebuilding your house after the bombs took them away

(Dear Mr. President – Pink)

Not talkin’ ’bout a year
No not three or four
I don’t want that kind of forever
In my life anymore…

People spend so much time
Every single day
Runnin’ ’round all over town
Givin’ their forever away
But no not me
I won’t let my forever roam
and now I hope I can find
my forever a home

(Forever – Ben Harper)

Que te importa? es mi vida
Si yo no le hago daño a nadie
Quién eres tú para decirme
Cómo vivir, quién eres tú?

Me vale lo que piensen,hablen de mí
Es mi vida y yo soy asi,simón!!
Me vale lo que piensen,hablen de mí
Es mi vida y yo soy asi!

(Me Vale – Mana)

So… can you please tell me why I am really digging these songs these days?

and

and

Fine, the last one, I really like the lyrics too.

3 comments

  1. ahh there are so many songs that capture certain moments or emotions soooo well. I´m so glad you put the Ben Harper lyrics up here. I first heard that song when I was in middle school and absolutely loved it, but I´d almost forgotten about it until reading the lyrics just now. Thanks for reminding me because those are great words!

  2. The songs you share have so many different themes! I tried to guess why you’re into the examples you shared but don’t think I can come up with a good enough answer! They seem to speak to your various political, social and personal interests that you’ve blogged about in the past few months.

  3. Isabel– it was hard to pick a Ben Harper song. So many are so good!

    Resident Expat– I think I tried to pick a variety. My tastes are very eclectic, both is style and content. I wanted to show a representative piece and not be all one sided.

Leave a Reply

