Songs along the campaign trail and all over the internet

The other day, coming home from work, I heard a piece on NPR’s All Things Considered about Songs Along the Campaign Trail. And, now, this was not about official music of the parties.  Nor was it about the fact that Jackson Browne is suing John McCain for using his song without permission. The piece was about the growing number of homemade songs for and against the candidates and VPs that are appearing online, especially in YouTube.  Since I thought this piece was hilarious, and some of the YouTube videos even better, I thought I would share a couple of my favorite of the Online Campaign Videos.

Barack Obama:

Okay, this was one is more professional, but it is so amazing. It almost brought tears to my eyes; yes, I am inspired by him and, yes, I believe I now know what the supporters of JFK felt back in the day.

This one is more of the homemade type.

Joe Biden:

I agree with NPR, there is a dearth of material on Joe Biden in terms of internet songs.  This may be because he doesn’t rile people up as much as Sarah Pallin does.  That said, I think his record should speak for him more than silly youtube songs.

John McCain:

Okay. This may go to far. But I agree with the sentiment that I am worried about a president who is so pro-war and doesn’t focus on diplomacy.  While I respect everything our troops and their families do and sacrifice for this country, I worry about the long lasting psychological effects of being a prisoner of war.  I do not believe it is a good requisite for commander and chief because his personal experience and need to restore the military’s “honor” may heavily influence decisions.  Finally, his stance for women has not been positive. He did oppose VOWA, which supports women victims of violence, increased their rights, and condemns violence against women in all its forms.

Sarah Palin:

3 comments

  1. Those were brilliant! You were right in saying that the John McCain one might have gone just a bit far – but I’d be lying if I said that it wasn’t hilarious! There were several nuggets of wisdom there too, such as the references references to McCain’s lack of diplomacy and such. He seems so…volatile.

    Thanks for bringing these to my attention!

Leave a Reply

