Literary Meme

Liza tagged me for this book meme ages ago, and I finally have the teeny bit of leftover brainpower to do it.

Here are the rules:

1. Grab the nearest book of 123 pages or more.
2. Open it to page 123.
3. Find the first 5 sentences and write them down.
4. Then invite 5 friends to do the same.

I have been meaning to take the time to read Woman’s Evolution: From matriarchal clan to patriarchal family by Evelyn Reed for quite a while now.  I have started it a while back, but haven’t quite found the time to invest into it. Since it is complex in its citing and examples, I don’t really want to read it in short stints before bed. Rather, I want a lazy weekend when I have time to plop down with a cup of chai and dedicate myself to it.  Afterall, when the book came out in the 70’s Ms. Magazine’s review said it “Helped me understand anthropology from a woman’s point of view.”

Mason points out that the “burden bearer” is an essential part of primitive industrial life. “Clary and fuel must be brought to make pottery, and pottery, in turn, has to be shaped to carry water and food, so the potter and the carrier are sisters” (Woman’s Share, p. 116). In many instances a child is part of the load. He writes:

In British New Guinea… it is a common occurrence to see the mother carry on her back a basket of food, a large bundle of firewood–both being supported by a band extending round the forehead–and on top of all her little two-year-old baby. The women are habituated from early life into carrying enormous burdens. (ibid., p 120).

I am going to tag: Heather, Winslie (not sure you will do a meme, but it might be the start of an interesting conversation), Julieta, Brian, and Jessica. The last two are classmates doing or having just completed their practicums abroad in Peru and Chile respectively.

3 comments

  1. Thanks for the invite Clare,
    If there had been a bribe included, like a nice glass of Rioja I might be tempted.

    I don’t do meme’s because they remind me of MLM.

    However if I do give-in to weakness, because I envy your lifestyle, might do it then, but don’t hold your breath.

    Appreciate the thought and raise a glass for me.
    Happy Easter.

Leave a Reply

