You have got to be kidding me!

Do you know what I love about my country (in this case being the United States my place of birth and citizenship, if not actually my residence)? I love that it was based on religious freedom. I love that it is based on the idea that all people are equal.

I wish that congress and the president would get on board with these 200+ year old ideals.

You know what I hate about my country currently? I hate that the religious right (which appears to be taking over some parts of government) has forgotten that we are a land that was in part created to help people move away from religious persecution. I hate that mass media is perpetuating the myth that Islam is inherently violent and that all Muslims are terrorists. I hate that Christianity is being imposed on Americans.

I hate that the house passed this:

    Resolved, That the House of Representatives–
    • (1) recognizes the Christian faith as one of the great religions of the world;
    • (2) expresses continued support for Christians in the United States and worldwide;
    • (3) acknowledges the international religious and historical importance of Christmas and the Christian faith;
    • (4) acknowledges and supports the role played by Christians and Christianity in the founding of the United States and in the formation of the western civilization;
    • (5) rejects bigotry and persecution directed against Christians, both in the United States and worldwide; and
    • (6) expresses its deepest respect to American Christians and Christians throughout the world.

Why, oh why, is it necessary for Congress to spend time debating this? Don’t we have more important things to talk about? Let’s talk about funding for public schools in this country! Let’s talk about the war in Iraq! Let’s talk about veteran’s benefits and social security and military spending and disaster preparedness! Let’s talk about gay marriage, adoption laws, and foster care policy! Let’s talk about human trafficking, the glass ceiling, campaign spending or dismantling a two party system! Let’s talk about important things! Please!

6 comments

  1. State and religion should be separated… Here there isn’t a legal separation but it’s slowly becoming a fact… I guess. I hope so. I don’t know much about the USA but what I read makes me feel like they are going backwards :S I hope they vote wisely!

  2. I don’t get why religious leaders would want to get mixed up in politics. They may ingratiate themselves to a certain percentage of the flock, but they tend to drive just about everyone else further away – including some of the people they had.

    Well, no… I suppose I do get it, but it has more to do with power than religion. I suppose it’s what I hate about my government and organized religion these days.

  3. Thanks for sharing and stoping by John. I think one of the scary things from the last election was how many people in the US voted based on “religious” or “moral” values. The documentary Jesus Camp really made me ponder that point- also, it terrified me.

  4. Your photography skills have exceeded mine :p

    Have thought about this and here are some contrarian thoughts to consider…

    1) A representative democracy is based on the voting in of representatives that reflect your values and goals…if the religious right form a cohesive block that votes in and supports candidates that pursue policies and legislation that reflects conservative christian ideals, then the system is actually working. The only complaint you can make is either that their actions are unconstitutional or they don’t represent you (which means you are in the minority…i.e. a sore loser.) What you should really be complaining about is not what happens in the House of Representatives but what has happened to our culture…how many who don’t agree with the religious right are too scared, apathetic or ignorant to criticize them or organize for change.

    2) Since all the muslim fanaticism in the world doesn’t seem to convince you…reading the Koran will show you that Islam is an intolerant and violent ideology when it comes to dealing with outsiders (infidels). You may want to believe it is peaceful because you know a number of good muslim people but they are only tolerant in so much as they have absorbed some Western (infidel) ideals. Islam today is much like Christianity before the enlightenment…repressive and violent.

    Think you would enjoy reading Ayaan Hirsi…

Leave a Reply

