A triumphant return

I have to admit that I have taken a slight detour from my posts on prostitution, human trafficking, and other crimes against children; however, never fear… I have attended a conference and am completely back on board. Prepare to be wowed by all the new insights I have flying around my head. Or, more realisticaclly, just start praying that I manage to get some of said thoughts out of my brain before 1) it goes to the beach and declares a strike or 2) explodes.

So, the first trafficking related topic I thought I would bring up is how trafficking laws around the world are being used as a form of gender discrimination.  In todays world we are witnessing several phenomenon of social change that have been coming for generations: women are gaining freedom around the world allowing them to travel independently, have jobs, and be modern; globalization is making travel in general more efficient, affordable, and common; and human trafficking is signaling out women traveling solo as potential victims of a vicious human rights violation.  At the same time that women are seen as victims (what a old fashioned view of women), they are also being treated as possible criminals.

This line of thought stems from an extremely articulate worker in the counter-trafficking movement from Brazil.  She has worked around the world.  Besides being female, Brazilian, and traveling alone (for work), her other crime is being pretty.  Especially in ports in Europe where Latin Americans make up a large part of the sex trade, she is repeatedly interrogated and searched at each respective airport she arrives in.

It is interesting to think how new laws meant to protect women from being trafficked into the sex trade can be used conversely to  limit travels and newfound rights.

3 comments

  1. That is actually a topic that has been on my mind lately. Women and danger, a simple approach. My mother worries about me going to the store five minutes away, by myself at night. Even like 10 at night. But she doesn’t worry a bit if it’s my husband. Once I noticed just how unfair it is that I be in more danger than him and that because he is a man he is assumed safe I started to notice other aspects of a womans life. I’ve just never had time to really think about it I guess.

    Thanks for giving me more to think about!😉

  2. Which brings the question of how much danger or perceived danger controls the lives of women. I am not advocating putting yourself in dangerous situations. At the same time, you and your husband are equally vulnerable to a gun. How much of the situation is that there really is a danger (is it a bad neighborhood? is there a history of muggings or rapes?) and how much is it this antiquated feeling that women are vulnerable and weak and therefore need protecting and need to not be self-reliant?

Leave a Reply

