Photo Wednesday: Chilean Indepence

Clare and a big flag, originally uploaded by coming2cambodia.

(First of all I would like to appologize for the tardiness of this Wednesday shot– between presentations at work, having a nasty cold, and getting ready for Chilean Independence, I am not really sure where the time has gone).

That said, in honor of Sept. 18th I thought I would post this photo.

Taken: Septemeber 7th, 2007 in Valparaiso
Subject: Me and random man
Drink: Chicha, a traditional homemade sweet apple wine that you can only get in Chile this time of year.

4 comments

  1. Maybe the Random Man wishes he had a glass of Chicha, too. Do the Chileans fiesta much? I’m not in any sense a world traveler, but I have been to Mexico and Spain, and it seems every other day is reason for a holiday. Love it! I wish Americans had more holidays. I think many are too work-oriented.

  2. The man in the back does look vaguely sinister. But I agree that he prolly just wanted some Chicha. 🙂

    I have never been to Mexico, and only to Spain in non-holiday seasons. Chileans like to fiesta. They definately celebrate. I have the impression that they are bit more subdued about it than some of the caribean cultures. That said, this is my favorite holiday here! More in the post from the 18th.

Leave a Reply

