Firsts

Today was Harley´s first ride on the metro.  She has concluded that Metro = Evil.  I am not sure why.  Perhaps the sound of the doors.  So my pup that travels so quietly that we haven´t had a problem on the bus or on planes, screamed and cried for 13 metro stations during rush hour.  We are hoping that the metro back to the bus station on Wednesday is significantly less eventful and stressful.

That said, upon arriving in the Santiago apartment and meeting my host sisters for the first time she proceeded to have both fall in love with her.  She also enjoyed treats of ham, chicken, cheese, and empanada.  (Harley is going to be more spoiled byt the time she leaves Chile!)

Tomorrow I am going to listen to a talk by Benito Baranda who is a huge figure in the NGO community here in Chile.   Although I have friends who have worked with him and I have read lots of his stuff, this will be my first time to meet him in person.  I am really looking forward to it.

6 comments

  1. Poor baby, Harley. I’m sure you’re glad that ordeal is over and she found a safe haven with your host sisters.

    My dog, Sammy, a Shetland Sheepdog, has a mortal fear of toasters or maybe toast because it reminds him of toasters. The popping sound of the toast coming up freaks him totally out. He barks and tries to attack it.

    What does Benito Baranda represent? My Spanish reading skills are poor, so I could not make out from his website what he does. Something to do with the poor?

  2. TravelChile– I was in Stgo. Harley was in a bag, so not sure if she was technically allowed on metro– but I had to get around somehow! She is also very small so generally no one has any clue she is there. I guess i will be sticking with the transantiago buses for a while. Not to mention the metro was SO crowded!

    Donna- Benito Baranda is a psychologist who is on the board and the spokesperson for several big NGO organizations including Hogar de Cristo (see link on rt) and America Solidaria which gets Chileans out to do volunteer work in the most poor areas of Latin America. Kinda of a Latin Americans help Latin Americans approach to volunteerism. He is pretty outspoken about the rights and needs of the poor and is considered to be the go to person in the humanitarian community in Chile. He and his wife have something like 7 children, several adopted with disabilities.

  3. Hogar de Cristo is obviously a very worthwhile organization to be associated with. They certainly are extensive!

    After seeing the map of Chile, it looks like it would be difficult to travel because of the shape of the country. Will you be venturing out much from your base in Santiago?

  4. In someways Chile is very easy because everything is a straight line, so you just keep going. I am actually based in Valparaiso which is a port town about 1.5 hours north of Santiago. I like it much better here– less smog. Also, I do hope to travel some, although I have already seen most of the country in past trips. But I loved San Pedro de Atacama and hope to get back there. And perhaps to Torre de Paine (where I have never been).

Leave a Reply

