Notes for a visitor

I have debated having my site be a public site (as in searchable on engines or not).  Originally, it was.  But then, after one mean comment, I decided to make it not searchable; after all, I concluded, my target audience is friends and family.  However, after some thought, I decided to go public again.  Perhaps some of my thoughts on development or on trafficking will make other people re-think something.  Not that I ever expect to be a big, well-known blog; nor do I ever plan to have a huge following. Also, I decided that I can get nasty comments, not take them seriously, and delete if need be.  So, welcome world to my blog. 

That being said, there is one visitor (or perhaps type of visitor that I would like to address individually.  Whoever is finding my blog by searching the words “Cambodi0”, “br0thel”, and “children”: SHAME ON YOU! Move along.  I do not have what you want here.  Or better yet, stay here and read all the archived posts (you can skip recipes if you wish).  Perhaps some of the content will help you re-think your way of life, find a good psychologist, and start working out your issues.

7 comments

  1. I envy your commit to the cause. As for the undesireables (I hate using that term but it applies in this application), what goes around comes around. It all comes out in court (a metaphor of mine), and nobody really get away with anything. The nasty message means that your presences threatens them. To scare a coward in their safe zone is quite an accomplishment too, so going public is good. Gives them less places to hide and let’s them know that people like you are out there and on to them.

  2. I would agree– but sadly, the mean comment was more about my grammar and non-trafficking subject matter (which is apparently dull). The visitor who found my site with aforementioned key words and also the one who found it with the words “Cambodia” “sex” and “travel”, left no comments. They just left- I can only assume- disappointed.

  3. grammar’s overrated anyways. you look deep enough anything can be torn apart, besides the rules change on an almost daily basis. I’ve been on this computer way too much today.

  4. I can’t believe that someone would take the time to make a critical comment about the content of your blog! Who does that person think he/she is?! Is he/she in Cambodia right now working on this issue? Does he/she understand the issue to the extent that you do? I bet not, because if he/she did, he/she would have understood that this is a blog of your experiences. You have already committed yourself to the cause, and are living proof of the effect one person can make; what you choose to write about (recipes and all!) is just a reflection of the uncommon but incredible experience that you are having…and that the critical writer, is not. Furthermore, this particular blog has informed me of human trafficking issues that I was completely unaware of. It has brought to my attention the sensitivies, politics, and media involvement surrounding the issue, and has forced me to think more critically when I am faced with articles I read in the paper, or stories I hear on the news. This blog should be public because when intelligent people that are interested in hearing the story of a strong woman doing what she can in Cambodia, and writing a blog about her experience, find your website, they should be able to gain the knowledge that you put forth. So, I vote for keeping the blog public, but for ignoring comments from randoms that do not understand your project. They are not worth yours, or your readers’, time.

  5. Thanks for the vote of confidence Christine!😉 You are the best. Also, in your area focus, you may run into more of this than you expect. It is getting more attention in latin america, it is definately happening there, and indigenous groups are often very vulnerable.

    By the way, someone found my blog by googling your name!

  6. Personally, I think it is best of your site is left open, for the benefit of information to those who have search for legitimate reasons. For example, I wanted to know more about personal experiences on human trafficking and sex tourism after a friend of mine who visited Cambodia told me about it. I decided to find our as much as I can and what better to get first hand info than a blog?

Leave a Reply

