Weather

This has been the coldest Cambodian winter on record! People are walking around in sweaters and long sleeve shirts; they have put blankets on their beds. How cold is it you ask? Well, today it was 79 degrees F. Freezing!  Okay, I have not been here long enough to think of it as cold, although I am starting to appreciate the cool breeze. Yet, I was still shocked to learn that it is the coldest winter in Cambodian history.  Shocked and thankful, perhaps.  However, the shock subsided a bit when I learned that Cambodian history (at least in the weather record keeping sense) only goes back 27 years. So, maybe it has been colder in the past.

9 comments

  1. McKenna wanted to know if that was negative 79 degrees? Kevin thinks you posted just to torture us. I suspect that was just an added benefit. This weekend it is -5 to -15 withOUT the wind chill. We’ll compare notes in summer, to even the score!

  2. Hi,

    It’s sunny and 75°F here in Tempe.

    I can give you a GCC argument for the coldest Cambodian winter if interested…

    Hope all is well ,
    Rick

  3. Hey Clare-

    Thanks for keeping the blog. I am reading along and enjoying your posts. Yeah, it is currently 19 degrees here in St. Louis today… very cold! burrr. Stay warm! Hope you are having a valuable experience.

    Peace, Brian

  4. Erin and McKenna- No not -79 degrees. That would be really cold! Here it is hot! And Aunt Clare is sweating all the time (living in a 4th floor outdoor walk-up does not help). And, no, I did not specifically post this to torment my sister, just a nice side effect (She did live in Florida for years while I was in Wisconsin).

    Dad and all WI people- yep. It is winter!

    Rick- 1) I love that you clarified that you belonged to Mer. 2) yes, I would like the GCC argument, please.

    Brian- Yea! And, welcome to the blog. I am glad that people are reading and enjoying and commenting. Comments are so fun. Makes me feel like I am not writing into a black whole and that not everyone is skipping over my site and just looking for p0rn. Also, hope that when you get to Peru that I get to hear about that as well.

  5. Winter in St. Louis! Snow and below normal temps the past 10 days and another 7 or so to go! Quite a bit different than when you left last month! Global warming has taken a holiday for a while here in the Gateway City.

  6. The melting of the icecap affects the salinity of the ocean water and with that the global air pattern circulating around the world.Global warming cause the ice caps to melt. In the case of Cambodia the decreased salinity(because of the increase in fresh water) has an affect on the ocean temperature (causing a brief reduction) and giving what would be a possible mini ice if this occurred on a larger scale (remember the Day After Tomorrow” ) with a more significant temperature drop. There also was a dropping of the high pressure system. What is happening in Cambodia this year means very little in itself however, climate change is a long term phenomenon and we cannot draw any conclusion from any one event, but for the “Nay Sayers” this supports a hypothesis that Global Climate change can be accelerated from anthropogenic factors. At least I think this is right and I’m getting tired.

  7. Rick, what do you do again? Is this somehow related, or just an interest? Did Mer find her-self some tree-hugging-liberal-minded-ocean-going-believer-in-global-warming-hippy???

  8. I have worked for a city government in Arizona for the past 7 years. My title is Safety and Training Cooridnator, but that has only been for the last 6 months. For the first 3 years, I worked as a water quality inspector/lab analyst, and for the last 3.5 years I was an environmental investigator. That meant I was the big blue meanie that nobody wanted to see hanging around, but they couldn’t tell me to leave. Then I was offered a nice raise to get into Safety ( I like the old job better). I’m working on a masters in environmental planning, but enivronmental law is my true love. The science is a geeky trait of mine (and it pays the bills), if I could have a practice to defend environmental causes that would be my dream, but sustainable planning is another love hence the interest in global warming.Planning is also something that could help us earn enough cash to retire by say age 45 or so. Then I can travel, maybe try law, and actually get to enjoy my family. I have a little too much blue collar (from Piottsburgh PA) upbringing to be hippie however I am a little out there. My dad would alway joking say that I must have been switched with his son at birth. The only problem with that is I look just like him except he;s 9 inches shorter. I’d like to here about the human trafficking sometime. How did you get into that. Mary says to say Hi, so Hi! She’s all stoked because she did my taxes and got me quite abit more money back this year. She wants a dinner and drinks for payment. Taxfree of course. Anyways I have to go and this is probably too much for one sitting. In case you don’t know i can ramble on like nobody’s business.

Leave a Reply

