Housing

Phnom Penh apt, originally uploaded by coming2cambodia.

I am happy to announce that for the month of February I will not be moving! In the two weeks that I have been in Cambodia, I have lived at the Golden Gate, a popular hotel with the NGO crows for a week; then at the TEO, another hotel, up in Battambong; next the Siv Mey Guesthouse, a little cheaper with a good location, for 6 nights. Finally, on February first I moved into an apartment. For those interested there are photos up on flickr. It is just a small studio on the forth floor of a very skinny building. The first 3 flights of stairs are not to bad: steep, but only because the steps are tall. The last flight, however, is down right scary or at least I think it will be scary once it rains. The first floor is actually an internet café in the front and the landlady’s house in the back and second floor. She rents out the third floor as one large apartment. The top floor is split into 4 individual studio units. They are spacious and come with a sink, medium-small sized refrigerator, bed, fan, cable TV, and air conditioning. The bathroom is a separate room and I had to buy my own portable gas burner. I pay for rent and electricity, which in Cambodia is unbelievable expensive! I suppose the rent price makes up for the electricity price. Anyway, I am happy to have a place of my own where I can cook when I want and I don’t have to keep moving. Well, until Svay Rieng.

4 comments

  1. Well, at the time, the Hudson Circle room was bigger than one I was sharing with roommates. And, there are not cute McKennas to take to see fish or ride on the bus with. But, its a good room. Clean. Safe. Plus, the bigger it is, the more I have to clean and cool.

Leave a Reply

