So lost!

Khmer writing, originally uploaded by coming2cambodia.

Well, I have been here for 3 days and I can say two words. For someone who is a linguist, this is more than pathetic. But I have several problems. First, I cannot find a book that explains anything. Second, I cannot read anything (as evidenced by the photo above, which is a Khmer poem taken from the internet). Third, it is not vaguely like any language I know. Fourth, everyone at the organization and in the restaurants has been able to speak to me in English, thus lowering the necessity. Finally, my brain seems to have melted.

Oh well, when I get out to Svay Rieng, being the only foreigner on the team, I am sure I will learn more quickly. Let’s hope!

3 comments

  1. Damn. That looks intense. I hope you will fare better with the language after a little more time there. Glad to hear from reading the rest of your blogs that you are doing well and are eager for new experiences. Post more pictures when you get the chance.
    Best,
    Amy

  2. Yes, please make sure to keep up w/ posting pictures! It was great to see you on the moto. By the way, motos and the use of them like that was also VERY popular in the DR. I hope you do okay, cause after a while, I couldn’t stand the sound of them!

  3. Yes yes yes. Took pictures this weekend. Will post tomorrow. This computer is not ready to post the pics (to slow). But, never fear, they are coming. You ask and I respond. I can see the sound of the motos getting annoying.

Leave a Reply

