Menu

There have been several requests for a post on food (several others for culture). I have to say that I do not yet feel equipped to really post on either of these issues. I have only been here for 2.5 days! However, to appease, I will tell you what I have eaten so far. Overall, it has all been quite good. I have not yet ventured to the outdoor stalls; although I am sure I will soon. When I do, I am sure occasional illness will follow. For now, I have no idea what is good, what is typical, or what to expect. Therefore, I just point and cross my fingers. So far, my luck has not run out. And, of all the places I have lived abroad, this is the one that I have enjoyed the food most from the beginning. Best of all, I have yet to pay more than 5 dollars for a meal.

Full day 1:
Breakfast (at the hotel):
Fried egg, french baguette, fruit place (plantains, pineapples, and mango), orange tang and coffee

Lunch (restaurant near by):
Fried tomatoes (not green) with seafood (shrimp and squid). Ground pepper (a lot) added for taste.
Mango shake.
*** This was the best meal yet and a whooping 3.80)

Dinner (at Thai/Khmer restaurant near work w/ boss):
Seaweed salad (with fresh basil and lemongrass)
Traditional dish of rice and seafood cooked in coconut served on banana leaves (very spicy!)
Fresh coconut milk (which, I have to admit, I thought would be more refreshing and tasty).

Full day 2:
Breakfast (at shop on the way to work):
Papaya shake.

Lunch (at restaurant across from hotel):
Fried rice with chicken and egg (also carrot, spring onion, and yellow onion). (A little bland).
Mango shake. (I am NEVER going to tire of these).

Dinner (at a restaurant owned by a Taiwanese man with Svea’s friend):
Salad with lettuce, pomelo, citrus and cashews. (Tasty and unique)
Melon drink with watermelon juice, lime juice, and fresh mint (no sugar).

6 comments

  1. I know I’m a bit behind on reading this but I suspect the mango shake thing is hereditary. It’s also intended to torment your Dad😉

  2. I hope that you will get some recipes while you are there. Bring home ones that only use ingredients we can get in Wisconsin. You never showed me your Moldova recipes, so I am asking in advance. Your posted diet sounds rather tame. No hot peppers in the oatmeal yet?? Do you have any milk?

  3. Hi mom! Welcome to the blog sphere. To answer your questions,

    1. No ,no hot pepers in the oatmeal. No oatmeal. Mostly fried noodles and soup or really milky rice for breakfast. Or, you can go the western way– fried egg and fruit. I bet you can guess what I generally choose. However, this morning there was hot pepers served in case I wanted to put them in my noodle soup.

    2. I can buy milk. Haven’t yet. But I could. I have bought cheese.

Leave a Reply

