Question

So I have finished my first two days of work and all is well. Everyone is extremely friendly and helpful.  Not to mention, the office has offered to help me open up a bank account, figure out how to extend my visa, find a place to live out in the province, set up meetings with NGOs, and get me a cell phone. Really, I can’t complain about anything.  Although, for having finished classes, I sure have a lot of reading to do.

 They did ask me one question today and I was unsure how to respond, so I thought I would throw the question out there for opinions: Should I live in a wood house or a concrete house?

 PS Two days down and no sun burn!!!

10 comments

  1. My guess is that a wood house would be cooler in hot weather, but that a cement house might be more secure. I’m not sure if that helps you or not…

    Glad to hear the practicum is going well so far!

  2. I think a cement house would be cooler in hot weather, more secure and less prone to bugs BUT a wood house would probably seem nicer, maybe more familiar, and less, I don’t know, cold? institutional? What would the roof be made of? Does it ever get cold where you are?

    Glad to hear you made it there OK and that things are going well so far – sorry Brian and I missed you at Christmas but I’m sure the next few months will fly by and we’ll be seeing you at your graduation before you know it🙂

  3. Sorry. I should be more explicit than gulp. I was just recalling the phone call from Moldova. BTW one of our Romanian students wanted to know where you are and what you are up to now. He said to wish you luck with your work.

  4. There are NO space heaters needed in Cambodia. Therefore, I feel that I am unlikely to have a repeat of Moldova-space-heater-setting-fire-to-bed-while-Clare-sleeps incidents. I will keep you updated on the search for housing. Although, now it looks like the earliest I will get out there is Feb 19th.

  5. This advice is a bit late, but a cement house sounds like an oven in that climate. Breezes would be good. So wood sounds better. But then there is the counter-vailing issue of bugs and other living creatures who would find it easier to get into a wooden house. So there are pros and cons either way. What do most people who live there do? Are you getting acclimated to the heat yet? Even if you do, keep putting on the sunscreen.

Leave a Reply

