Spicing up the Holiday Cookie Exchange

Standard
sweet & spicy walnuts, originally uploaded by the boastful baker.

I have a huge sweet tooth and cookies, of all kinds, top my favorite food chart. That said, I decided that for the holiday cookie exchange, I wanted to spice things up. Just a little something spicy to cut the sweetness between trying all my neighbors’ goodies.

As well as gingerbread cookies, I brought a little bowl of Cocoa-Chile Candied Walnuts. This is my own adaption to a recipe published by Hershey’s chocolate.

Ingredients:
1.5 cups walnut haves
¼ cup sugar
2 tablespoons sugar (separate from sugar listed above)
1 cup boiling water
2 tablespoons hot cocoa mix (or 1.5 tablespoons cocoa powder)
4 tablespoons Chili powder
Slightly less than ½ teaspoon cayenne pepper (closer to ¼ if you don’t love spice)

Steps:
1.Dissolve ¼ cup sugar in boiling water. Leave walnuts soaking for 15 minutes. Drain.
2.Mix dry ingredients in a bowl. Once well mixed, toss in walnuts. Shake well.
3.Place coated walnuts on a cookie sheet and cook at 350 for 15 minutes. Stir or shake mid-bake if you remember.
I can’t say they were a hit, but the host did like them (and kept them). Guess I need to make a new back soon!

***Please note the picture is not mine; I forgot to take one. These are beautiful in any case and if you click on the link the photographer gives you her recipe.

About Clare

I am a social worker who lives abroad, moves every couple of years with my daughter, my pup, and my partner, works in development, loves food and taking pictures and writes for fun and for friends back home. Home being the many places I have lived and those I have left behind with each move.

Leave a Reply

