Happy Birthday to ClareSays!

Standard

bday

Clare Says turned 2 two days ago. Yes, she came to be on 12/16/06 with a post called Hello World! In that post, I talked about how this was an experiment to keep me in touch with friends and family back home while I embarked on my new adventures in Cambodia without filling their in-boxes with mass emails. 

Clare Says, way back then, also inhabitted a differrent spaceand hand a funky green layout. For posterity’s sake, that space continues to survive… but only in the past.  All of the posts and comments were imported to Clare Says when I decided to continue the experiment in a more permanent venue.

While many friends and family do not follow blogs and would probably have done better with a mass email, I am surprised when I find out people read who never comment (Hi Aunt Margaret! Hi Hannah! Hi Erin!).  Also, I can say that I have met some pretty nifty people through this.  Like Webbed feet; web log who I ran into in real world and who recognized me. Or like Kyle who I knew online long before meeting up for drinks.  Or many of the others I do not know personally and some that I have met.

P.S. The picture is from my 17th birthday in Chile (since we were just talking about celebrating things abroad). There is a tradition in Chile to make the birthday girl/boy kiss the cake.  This inevitably leads to people pushing the birthday boy/girl’s face into the cake.  As you can see, my friends were particularly vicious.  I, however, forgave them and the girl on the left, K-Ro, became my college roommate and is still a dear friend today.

About Clare

I am a social worker who lives abroad, moves every couple of years with my daughter, my pup, and my partner, works in development, loves food and taking pictures and writes for fun and for friends back home. Home being the many places I have lived and those I have left behind with each move.

One response »

Leave a Reply

